Abstinence—a goal worth trying for

In my OA program, we talk about abstinence.  Abstinence is defined as: “a self-enforced restraint from indulging in bodily activities that are widely experienced as giving pleasure”.  This is really odd when I think about it and my own version of abstinence, as it relates to OA.  Does food give me pleasure? Do I enjoy bingeing?  

I can’t say that I’ve been one of those who eats when they are super happy; rather, my over-eating is usually to block out some kind of strong emotion or feeling.  To numb out, so to speak. So, while I enjoy food, I think food causes more pain than it’s worth!

Anyways, in OA, we define our own abstinence and this is mine:

-No bingeing

-No second helpings that are unplanned

-Tracking everything I eat and being totally honest about it!

So far, I’ve been abstinent 3 1/2 days, and I’m damn proud of it, since this disease is really trying to kill me.  Last week, I ate to huge excess, and also drank to excess!  So, I’m counting my days and working my plan the best I can.  Recognizing the positive things I did for my plan, myself, others, etc. is something that I’ve been working on too, so that I can keep moving on the right path. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

