Slip n Slide-not just a fun game!

Yeah, I remember those old slip and slides–cheap summer fun! Those and the old hose and sprinkler!   Nowadays, to appease the average pre-teen, it’s all about the fancy water parks. Geez!

Anyways, I digress.  My road has once again become rocky, eating has been way off track and exercise non-existent, but this time, I think I know at least why.  You see, as I work the OA steps, it’s like doing work on yourself, which means coming face to face with some realities.  And the realities are–I am an emotional wreck! I used (and still use) food to suppress any strong emotion–to block it out.  Now,as an adult, I can realize how totally f*&cked up that is!

I really don’t know how to handle some emotions well, especially anger and resentment.  And those, my friends, will eat you up–literally! Good thing I am also in therapy, because this sh$t is tough!  There are reasons I blocked them out in the first place, you know??

But today (and “for today” is OA’s motto, practically), things are well, food is on track, and thoughts are (mostly) positive.  I hope to get some exercise in today, and I plan to continue to make good food choices for the rest of the day.  I will also start using my tool of writing more when an emotion or experience arises that I don’t know how to deal with.  

So, put away the slip n slide for now–it’s just too cold anyway!

Leave a comment

Filed under Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

